Flyover to mark Pottstown Community Veterans Day

POTTSTOWN – The 7th Annual Pottstown Veterans Community Day will take place on Saturday, September 24. The festivities begin at 11 a.m. on Memorial Park Island, and are free and open to the public.

Edward Conbeer

The centerpiece of the event, as always, is the presentation of the Glass Tear Hero Award, designed to honor veterans who have returned home to become pillars of the local community. This year’s winners are Calvin Brooks (USMC), Edward Conbeer (US Navy) and Charles “Doc” Dougherty (US Navy). sergeant. Clyde Hoch (USMC, Ret.) will be the guest speaker.

This year’s ceremony also marks a milestone for the Island of Veterans project. On August 8, Pottstown Borough Council approved a resolution to officially rename Memorial Park Island to Veterans Island. Mayor Stephanie Henrick will be on hand to make the official statement.

To celebrate both this year’s Glass Tear Hero winners and commemorate this historic event as part of the Veterans Island Project’s mission to ensure this space remains dedicated to veterans for generations to come , we intend to hold a flyover during this year’s ceremony in hopes of providing this special moment for guests of this year’s ceremony.

Charles “Doc” Dougherty

The 7th Annual Pottstown Veterans’ Community Day is sponsored by Gablesville Athletic Club, Elks Veterans’ Committee Lodge 814, Vlahos-Dunn Insurance, Birdsboro American Legion 626; Stichter Lodge #254 F.&AM; Friends of Joe Ciresi, Nina’s cleaners and tailors; Tompkins Community Bank; Friends of Tracy Pennycuick; Ramona Beltz in memory of Lawrence Beltz US Navy, 2017 Glass Tear Honoree; Nancy and Dave Garner, 2021 Glass Tear winners; Pottstown goes fourth! Inc.; Wolf, Baldwin & Associates; Pottstown Quoit Club.

Also, JAB Insurance Brokers, Inc in honor of John A Bigham Jr.; Joseph D. Browne in memory of fallen Korean War veterans; Marvin W. Thrasher, Jr in honor of Marvin W. Thrasher, Jr US Navy; LTC (Ret’d) Roger M. Baumann in memory of Harold C. Bauman Army Air Corps; Frank Strunk in memory of Francis Strunk WWII USAF; David F Bohn in memory of James P Cawley; Christopher Steadman, David and Sandra Rogers; John and Jennifer Gunson; Marie & Francesco Franco; Nick and Renee Vance; Alessandria and James Dorgan; Jennifer and Matthew Mitchell.

All proceeds will go to the Veterans Island Project, a 501c3 non-profit organization dedicated to maintaining Veterans Island.

Comments are closed.